Mental health issues are very common. They affect 1 in 5 teens in the United States. This page provides information on the most common mental health concerns faced by teens. If you experience these following concerns, seek help from mental health professionals. You can talk to a school counselor, doctor, or another trusted adult. Our resources page gives further information about mental health providers in Chicago’s Northern suburbs.

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-56-23-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-54-14-pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tips: http://www.mhww.org/strategies.html

Ten Tools for Wellness: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/ten-tools

Depression

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-32-13-pm

Identifying Teen Depression and Finding Help: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/depression-teens

Managing Teen Depression: https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/teen-depression/index.shtml

National Youth Crisis Hotline:
(800) 442-HOPE (4673)

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline:
(800) 273-TALK (8255)

Anxiety

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-34-01-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-34-11-pm

General Information: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/anxiety-disorders

Identifying and Treating Anxiety: https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/anxiety-disorders/index.shtml

Understanding Anxiety: http://www.adaa.org/understanding-anxiety

ADHD

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-38-34-pm

Causes and Symptoms: of ADHD in Teens: http://www.crchealth.com/troubled-teenagers/adhd-in-teenagers/

Identifying ADHD: http://www.adhd-institute.com/assessment-diagnosis/symptoms-of-adhd/

Eating Disorders

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-43-41-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-43-55-pm

General Information: https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/eating-disorders/index.shtml

Seven Important Facts: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/7-important-facts-about-eating-disorders

Eating Disorders Teen Hotline:
(866) 628-7494

Substance Abuse

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-45-26-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-45-31-pm

Addiction: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/addictions

Drug Abuse in Teens: https://www.addictioncenter.com/teenage-drug-abuse/

Drug Facts: https://teens.drugabuse.gov/drug-facts

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-1-42-16-pm

More Information: https://www.newportacademy.com/resources/empowering-teens/teen-adolescent-trauma/

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/post-traumatic-stress-disorder

Abuse Victim Hotline:
(866) 662-4535