16-157-070crop  Mental Health America of the North Shore was founded in 1965 by a group of advocates and mental health professionals concerned about the need to promote mental health in Evanston. We later expanded our reach to all the northern suburbs of Chicago. We are an affiliate of Mental Health America (MHA), the nation’s leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and promoting the overall mental health of all Americans. Our work is driven by our commitment to promote mental health as a critical part of overall wellness. The bell, cast from the shackles and chains that used to bind people with mental illnesses, is our symbol. The Mental Health Bell rings out hope for mental wellness for everyone. We are a volunteer-run organization governed by a Board of Directors and supported by a Professional Advisory Board and a Youth Advisory Board.



Board of Directors



Josefina Alvarez PhD Adler University


Marina Radovancev, MBA


April Singer, MBA Retired, IBM

Board Members: 

Allyson Adams, MA

Pauline Binder-Finnema, PhD

Amber Bond, LPC

David Gordon, MSW

Brian LaMoreaux, MD

Tracey Levine, LCSW

Kate Mahoney, LCSW

Cristina Ramírez, EdS

Silvia Skripkauskas

Nichole Ulibarri


Professional Advisory Board

The Professional Advisory Board helps us stay current on new developments in the field and informs our programs. We thank the members of this board who volunteer their time to support our work:


Youth Advisory Board

Our Youth Advisory Board consists of 30 students from Evanston High School, Loyola Academy, Glenbrook North High School, Maine East High School, Maine West High School, and Maine South High School. Their focus is to educate youth, teachers, parents and the community at large on teens’ perspectives on mental wellness.

The current Youth Advisory Board was organized 3 years ago by Board Members Cristina Ramirez and Allyson Adams. Cristina, our longest serving Board Member, had always felt that students’ voices could be a powerful tool in changing the community’s views on mental health. When Allyson joined the Board, the two worked together to bring back the MHANS Youth Advisory Board. The group meets quarterly and plans various programs and activities during the academic year.